Empty

Intro

GOOGLE REPUB - KIME REPUB

KIME REPUB is a converter for producing electronic magazines in the Google Newsstand RePub format from InDesign documents. RePub is Google's proprietary variant of the EPUB standard: the combination of a facsimile of the printed magazine ("Replica View") and a flow-representation of the text ("Text View") allows a more magazine-like reading experience for the electronic publication. The use of the RePub format is mandatory for the Google Play Newsstand. In the past - lacking sufficient authoring tools for the RePub format - there was often nothing else for publishers but to enlist specialised service providers. KIME REPUB, for the first time, enables publishers to produce RePub documents based on their InDesign documents for print - while retaining full control of the production process.

    WORKFLOW

    The creation of RePub documents is carried out in three steps:
  1. The print PDF of the magazine is used to extract page previews - this task can be executed on the push of a button with tools like Adobe Acrobat.
  2. The InDesign documents of the print production are used to prepare those articles that are supposed to show up in Text Preview of the Google Newsstand Reader App. This process allows selection (not every article or element of an article is suitable for flow represenatation) and an arbitrary sequential arrangement of text and image elements. This preparation is done in the article panel of Adobe InDesign and will be stored within the InDesign documents - structuring can thus be accomplished during print production or at a later time in a dedicated execution step.
  3. KIME REPUB will finally combine page previews and the articles exported from InDesign into the RePub format. Page previews are scaled to size, articles are cleaned up and converted to XHTML (automatically converting InDesign stylesheets to RePub reader styles) and finally all the assignments between page previews and text views are created as required by the RePub standard. All this takes only a couple of minutes and results in a RePub file ready for upload in Google Producer.

BENEFITS

Due to economic feasibility RePub documents are often created in an oversimplified procedure in which the InDesign documents are exported to the EPUB format as-is, although the order of elements in such an export is prone to error. This results in bad formatting, wrong or bad sequence of article elements, messed up special characters or illegible content (especially from tables). KIME REPUB gives full control of the production process and thus significantly enhances the quality of the publication. Repeating tasks, like the mapping of stylesheets are automized.

Kosten

LICENSING MODELS

KIME REPUB is licensed once per title, independently of the number of produced issues. Licence fees are 2000,- Euro each for the first 5 titles and there are no additional fees for further titles. The licence fee includes support for the first year and all future updates of KIME REPUB.

Crop

    SUPPORT

  1. KIME REPUB comes with comprehensive documentation, including useful hints for InDesign best practices, as the quality of the electronic publication is highly dependent from the discipline exercised in the print production process.
  2. We support your team by phone and mail in case of questions and problems. This support is free for the first year.
  3. We are constantly developing on KIME REPUB - changes in the RePub standard, better article templates, bug fixes ... there is always room for improvement. All updates are free for you.
  4. You are not using Adobe InDesign but some other CMS? Get into contact with us - we might be able to adapt our code for your needs!

Crop

SYSREQS

KIME REPUB has no special requirements regarding graphics or memory and is available for the following platforms:
- Mac OS X 10.9 or better
- Windows 7 or better
- Linux
The preparation of articles requires Adobe InDesign CS6 or CC and for the creation of the page previews we recommend Adobe Acrobat (both products probably already existing in your house).

Empty

Intro

GOOGLE REPUB - KIME REPUB

KIME REPUB ist ein Konverter für die Erstellung elektronischer Magazine im „Google Play Newsstand RePub“-Format aus InDesign-Quellen. RePub ist eine von Google entwickelte proprietäre Abwandlung des EPUB-Standards, die durch die Kombination einer Faksimile-Ansicht der Ganzseite (fixed-layout) und einer Nur-Text-Ansicht auf Artikel-Basis (flow-layout) ein besseres Lese-Erlebnis für elektronische Zeitschriften ermöglichen soll. Das RePub-Format wird für die Publikation im Google Play Kiosk zwingend vorausgesetzt. Mangels geeigneter Authoring-Werkzeuge für das RePub-Format blieb den Verlagen bislang nur der Gang zu spezialisierten Dienstleistern. Mit KIME REPUB erhalten Verlage nun erstmals die Möglichkeit, auf Basis ihrer Print-InDesign-Dokumente selbst RePub-Dokumente zu erstellen - bei voller Kontrolle über den Produktionsprozess.

    WORKFLOW

    Die Erstellung von RePub-Dokumenten erfolgt in drei Schritten:
  1. Aus dem Druck-PDF des Magazins werden die Seitenpreviews extrahiert. Aus dem Druck-PDF des Magazins werden die Seitenpreviews extrahiert - dieser Schritt kann mit Werkzeugen wie Adobe Acrobat auf Knopfdruck erledigt werden. KIME REPUB sorgt in der späteren Verarbeitung automatisch für die korrekte Skalierung der Seiten.
  2. Die InDesign-Dokumente der Print-Produktion werden nun genutzt, um diejenigen Artikel aufzubereiten, die in der Flow-Darstellung des Google Kiosk Readers angeboten werden sollen. Hierbei findet eine Selektion statt - nicht jeder Artikel oder Artikelbestandteil ist für die Flow-Darstellung geeignet! - und die Reihenfolge der Text- und Bildelemente kann für die Flow-Darstellung frei bestimmt werden. Die Aufbereitung der Artikel erfolgt mit dem Artikel-Bedienfeld von InDesign und wird im InDesign-Dokument gespeichert - die Strukturierung kann somit schon bei der Print-Herstellung erfolgen, oder später in einem separaten Arbeitsschritt.
  3. KIME REPUB vereinigt nun die Seitenpreviews und die aus InDesign exportierten Artikel in das RePub-Format. Die Seitenpreviews werden dabei auf die erforderliche Grösse skaliert, die Artikel werden bereinigt und in XHTML umgewandelt (wobei InDesign-Stilvorlagen automatisch in die Stile des Readers konvertiert werden) und schliesslich werden die Zuordnungen der Flow-Artikel zu den Seitenpreviews erzeugt. All dies geschieht automatisch in wenigen Minuten. Das Ergebnis ist ein fertig gepacktes RePub-Dokument, das direkt in den Google Producer geladen werden kann.

VORTEILE

Aus Gründen der Wirtschaftlichkeit werden RePub-Dokumente heute häufig in einem simplifizierten Verfahren hergestellt - die InDesign-Dokumente werden einfach als ePub-Format exportiert obwohl die korrekte Abfolge der Elemente in einem solchen Export nicht gewährleistet ist. Die Folge sind u.a. schlechte Formatierungen, falsche oder schlechte Reihenfolge der Artikelbestandteile, defekte Umlaute und unleserliche Textabschnitte (etwa bei Tabellen). KIME REPUB erlaubt die volle Kontrolle über den Herstellungsprozess und damit eine deutliche Qualitätssteigerung. Sich wiederholende Aufgaben, wie die Zuweisung von Stilen aus Stilvorlagen werden automatisiert.

Kosten

LIZENZMODELL

KIME Repub wird einmalig pro Titel lizenziert - unabhängig von der Anzahl produzierter Ausgaben. Die Lizenkosten betragen für den 1. - 5. Titel je 2000,- Euro, ab dem 6. Titel werden keine weiteren Kosten mehr fällig. Die kostenpflichtigen Titel können jederzeit getauscht werden. Die Lizenzkosten enthalten kostenlosen Support im ersten Jahr sowie alle Funktions-Upgrades in der Zukunft.

Crop

    SUPPORT

  1. KIME RePub wird mit einer umfassenden Anleitung geliefert, die auch viele praktische Hinweise für die generelle Arbeit mit InDesign enthält - denn die Qualität der elektronischen Publikation ist wesentlich von der Disziplin in der Print-Herstellung abhängig.
  2. Per Mail und Telefon unterstützen wir Sie bei Fragen oder Produktionsproblemen. Dieser Support ist im ersten Jahr kostenlos.
  3. Wir entwickeln REPUB weiter - Änderungen am RePub-Standard, Artikel-Templates, Fehlerbehebungen ... es lässt sich immer etwas verbessern. Updates von KIME REPUB erhalten Sie kostenlos.

Crop

SYSTEMANFORDERUNGEN

KIME Repub läuft ohne besondere Anforderungen an Grafik und Arbeitsspeicher unter folgenden Betriebssystemen:
- Mac OS X 10.9 oder höher
- Windows 7 oder höher
- Linux
Für die Herstellung der Flow-Artikel wird Adobe InDesign in Version CS6 oder CC benötigt, für die einfache Herstellung der Seitenvoransichten empfehlen wir Adobe Acrobat.